Giving thanks.

“Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”
Mark 11:24

It’s not Thanksgiving, but I’m just so happy to be thankful.

I’m so thankful for the things that have been coming my way.

I’m so thankful for the conversations I have with old friends, and blessed to be in connection with them.

I’m so thankful for friends who are willing to give their hands to serve, ears to listen, and ideas to push me further.

I pray that the Lord will open doors, and that I will not be complacent in my decisions.

 

***

On the other side of the world, it’s my mom’s birthday.

My mom nags. A lot. My friends are aware of this. They dream nightmares about her. My friend has dreamt of her cooking potions.

But my mom’s the strongest, wittiest, most resilient person I know. She’s so fearless about so many things, and exuberates wisdom that many yearn to hear. She never shies away from opportunities. She has such a generous heart, it makes me wonder why she lends money to people she knows who are never going to pay her back.

Her beauty shines both inside and out. My mom, her age, still gets suitors time to time. Her real estate clients, the people she sits beside in the airplane, the people across her in the train.

My mom always wanted the best for me. She grew up speaking Mandarin and Cantonese and so English was not something that came to her naturally. I sometimes find her Chinese writings on top of the words she didn’t understand.

But my mom wanted me to be out in the world, and even made my Chinese name my middle name, to sound more American. She spoke more English than Mandarin at home, so that I could comfortably claim that English has always been my first language.

Despite looking like a social butterfly in many of the networking events she attended, my mom never likes the attention drawn to her. I cooked up a plan to get her friends to celebrate her birthday with her last year, and she returned the favor by yelling at me and threatening to cancel it. Just like how she threatened to cancel my school year in Wisconsin. I love my mom woooh.

My mom knows my stubbornness is rock solid, and she knows her advice falls into deaf ears. And when consequences happen, she nags me again, and tells me how she’s told me that for the past 20 years and I still don’t listen.

If any of you ever thought I was strong-headed, calm and opinionated, I got it all from my mom, who challenges me each day, who questions my life goals, and then becomes passive aggressive when I stopped listening to her. Yeap, got it all from her.

Happy birthday mom for being who you are, and tolerating this mischievous child 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

