Standing Egg has been one of my favorite artists since I discovered them on my last semester of senior year. Unlike most artists, they don’t publicly show themselves during performance (and usually find other people to perform for them, or so they say) and call themselves Egg 1, Egg 2, etc.

They make really great music. But my most favorite album of theirs would be the all-piano performance of their songs.


 

Easter is in a couple of hours and I’ve gotta get up early for worship practice.

This month I reflected on my idea of integrity. I was fascinated by this “integrity” many years ago when someone asked a bunch of self-made millionaires what was the most important value that one should have (or something along those lines).

The word integrity is beautiful in the sense that it envelops all the good characteristics one should have. Fairness, honesty, sincerity. It was interesting to see the panel of these people, agree unanimously that the most important character is integrity.

Integrity means leaving no room for compromise. I used to think compromising is good. You get the best of both worlds, even though not 100% of each one. You know, you appreciate sunsets and sunrise more than night and day, the in-between. It’s better to sit on the fence than to choose sides, so you neither lose one side of the argument.

But like sitting on the fence, you don’t have both feet rooted to the ground. You are neither here nor there, and where the wind blows, you would fall to the one that your center of gravity leans towards to.

Recently, I went to a sponsored scrumptious lunch courtesy of a firm who wanted to sell their business. The lunch was suppose to go from 11:30 to 1:30 pm but I had to be back before 1 to settle some work. So I told my boss I was going to be back before 1 (since she sent me to the lunch to represent her) and I told the receptionist at the lunch that I was going to leave at 1.

Before I got comfortable in my seat, the firm announced that there will be raffle for an Apple Watch at the end of the presentation.

There were about a good 8-12 people and the probability to get an Apple Watch in that raffle seemed like a higher chance than some drawing on the internet. But I had told them I was leaving at 1 and I promised my boss I would be back soon.

Eventually I left at 1:10, but I was disheartened that I didn’t stay back for the raffle even though what are the odds that I could get it. I told my boss this though and she was like “You should have told me that, I would have understand”

*starts flipping table*

She sent me an email two days ago about another raffle for an Apple Watch, and told me to go for it. Yesterday she asked whether I checked my email and I said I did but didn’t look thoroughly at it to see what it’s about. I for some reason, brought up my conflicted feelings that I left that lunch early, and did say my honest feelings about it. My boss then mentioned that yes, you could have gotten the watch, but the fact that you kept to your word on leaving the lunch because you had another meeting and not staying just for the watch would gain you more respect and shows more of your character.

***

Also not too long ago, I had a conversation with some of my friends (who are 5-12 years my senior) about premarital sex. They were women who were married in good faith to their husbands and divorced years later and are now in a phase where they don’t want to settle down just yet. The women mentioned that sex before marriage is important to know whether their partner will be someone they can spend the rest of their life sharing the same bed with. While I can understand where they are coming from, I mentioned that there are ways that things can work out without going through that.

The women smiled and said “I understand where you are coming from due to your religious obligations, but you are missing out.”

Really, am I missing out? It’s like telling a vegetarian that they are missing out on not eating meat. It’s like telling married people without kids that they are missing out on not having kids. Am I really missing out?

When I was that self-proclaimed vegetarian in middle school, my friends jested on my dislike for meat, and how I would only eat the pasta out of the chicken bolognese (chicken spaghetti, I usually eat the pasta, there was no vegetarian options at that time) when I hung out with them. They would say like “I’m missing out half my life” by not eating meat. Sure, meat is good for you, meat is healthy in some ways, but to be pressured to like it because it’s the “normal” way is pushing boundaries of the values I lived by.

So yes, maybe sex is good for you, it’s healthy for you, it’s the normal thing to do now in this generation, not gonna lie. Do I want my future partner be sleeping with other girls before he meets me? No. And I don’t want to do the same to him.

I believe that there are somethings that should be cherished well, like our bodies and dignity. And that’s just me and my principle. Whether it’s a good or bad decision to live by, I choose to adhere to it. And that’s where my integrity lies. To hold on to what I believe is true. To hold on to what I believe will be beneficiary for me.

Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves,and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming.”

Ephesians 4:14

I don’t agree that people are out to get you when they mention their opinions. But we are people easily swayed by the billboards on the road, word of mouth and anything we see. Remember your core value wherever you go. And as long as you have that in you, you will be fine even in the darkest of times.

 

 

One thought on “

  1. I wrote one of my Stanford essays about my favorite quote from Jane Eyre, not unrelated to your thoughts on integrity:

    Still indomitable was the reply–“I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will keep the law given by God; sanctioned by man. I will hold to the principles received by me when I was sane, and not mad–as I am now. Laws and principles are not for the times when there is no temptation: they are for such moments as this, when body and soul rise in mutiny against their rigour; stringent are they; inviolate they shall be. If at my individual convenience I might break them, what would be their worth? They have a worth–so I have always believed; and if I cannot believe it now, it is because I am insane–quite insane: with my veins running fire, and my heart is beating faster than I can count its throbs. Preconceived opinions, foregone determinations, are all I have at this hour to stand by: there I plant my foot”

    I like what you wrote 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

