NY.

 

“New York is——- just one of a kind. It’s a love-hate place.”

I’ve been in New York long enough to not miss anything about it. I’ve never been to New York with friends so my experience is less exciting (but thrilling for the shopaholic). I was back here because my passport was about to expire, and I needed to use my current passport for my examinations coming up in June.

I bumped into a friend of mine when we both arrived at LGA in the same plane. She had an interview with a prominent bank, and I can’t help but wished I was in the same boat. I did travel a fair bit for interviews, but it would be fun to travel to NY for one.

I am also away from Facebook, but have been checking it up once in a while to make sure I’m not missing anything “important”. I later found out that one of my occasional checks led me to knowing that another friend of mine was coming to NY for an interview too and we decided to meet up for dinner.

I stayed with my uncle’s godmother, who lived with a group of international females. My uncle claims that they are all here without legal paper work but somehow ended up being in New York for 10 years or so.

“They never check in New York,” says my uncle “if you want to stay here, you should come to New York.”

Most of them are either unmarried, a couple of them had kids who are married living in another country elsewhere. They left their higher-level jobs in their home country due to work and economic reasons and somehow chose to reside here, for better or worse.

image

An apartment door to the the units upstairs. City living in Chinatown. 

The women gathered around the dining table in the evening telling stories of their friends and their current immigration issues. All of them are trying to make ends’ meet. The youngest one was unmarried and doing night school.

Not many people want to hear this side of the story. No one wants to know that the people they know are doing a lot worse than they hear. They meet sometimes for breakfast in the morning in the local coffee shop. The air is thickened by the emissions from loading trucks and old minivans.

The disparity between the rich and the poor is apparent everywhere but even more so here. People in suits are usually better off than the people I see in Chinatown. But despite bigger paychecks, the unhappiness still shows through on their faces. Plastered smiles when they meet someone on the street. Their need to get a coffee fix in every corner of the block.

image

I spend a good chunk of time walking blocks to Starbucks and food places. I am suppose to try a few meals when I’m here but cramps hit me this morning and my day plan to be out and about is now me laying in bed and mindless swiping on Tinder.

Hopefully something comes out good in the evening.

Leave a Reply

